About

Peter Hackshaw – Author

‘I used to travel a lot – and in that time, I read every book I could get my hands on.

Always fiction. Sometimes classics. Often horror, sci-fi and fantasy;

Dumas, King, Koontz, Tolkien, Rice, Shelley, Asimov, Barker, Sanderson, Herbert, Gaiman, Eddings, Garland, H.G Wells, Brett Easton Ellis, Philip K. Dick… all captivating.

One week I picked several books in a row that I couldn’t connect with and I thought ‘What do I want to read right now?’ and ‘Could I write it?‘.

I began with short stories, to build my confidence.

I found my voice. Now, writing is all I want to do.’

about the author

Bio:

#1 Amazon Best Seller.

Peter Hackshaw is the author of the #1 Best Seller post-apocalyptic Cli-Fi novel, Ever Winter (for fans of Cormac McCarthy’s The Road or Emily St.John Mandel’s Station Eleven) and #1 Best Seller The Shadow Sect – Netherdei; book one of a masterful, Western Cultivation/Fantasy series, billed as ‘The Witcher meets Wuxia’ (audio by Joe Jameson).

Ever Winter is now an award-winning (Audiofile Earphones Award & 2021 SOVAS Voice Arts Award for Best Sci-Fi) audiobook, performed by Dan Stevens (Marvel’s Legion, Beauty and the Beast, Downton Abbey).

Peter was born in Harold Wood, Essex, England – and lives in Great Dunmow with his wife and three children.

He was brought up in the 1980s on a diet of Findus Crispy Pancakes and 8-bit games.

He began writing under a pen name and developed his craft with a collaborative online Sci-Fi novel – released weekly as a series – and a number of contemporary award-winning horror shorts, which featured in #1 Amazon anthologies.

His favourite book of all time is the revenge classic and masterpiece The Count of Monte Cristo, by Alexandre Dumas and after a spate of leaving books on trains for people to find, he is re-building his ‘bookcase of dreams’ with beautiful editions of his favourite books.

Peter is currently writing his third book, Netherdei #2 (to-be-named)…